No Longer a Victim but Victorious in Christ


Well, tonight, my favorite football team of all time- the Seattle Seahawks won!!!  Afterwards, the MVP Russell Wilson gave God glory for the victory…yep the seahawks overcame much to become the victor and the MVP managed to give God the victory.

You see, I overcame much in my life and I give God the glory for no longer allowing me to be a victim but a person victorious in Him…

After my divorce, I remember going home and sobbing my heart out and praying to Him after hearing a song “God is an Awesome God…I fell asleep and woke up knowing that God was in charge and that even if things did not go my way, He would still be there for me.  And, I need to returned to Him who I turned my back on while married to my ex as I was going down a dark path…possibly even death yet I was able to turn back…as God pulled me away from being a victim of abuse and a nasty divorce even as I lost my son during the custody hearing because of many factors which I will not discuss since it’s between God and my ex husband…God will be the final judge in this situation.

Even though it would take a bit more time, I finally began to return to Him as I involved myself at a local church, went to a counselor and developed some wonderful friendships at church and even work.   I’m still friends with many of these people today and have enjoyed their friendship and mentorship over the years.  Life would include being active in singles ministry, greeting, serving at banquets and other fun group events and surrendering myself to Jesus as I became not a victim but victorious in Jesus Christ.  We continue to give Him glory as we plan our next journey of ministering to people and hopefully speaking eventually of what God has done for us because we are victorious in Him.

Then I felt the desire to go back to school so I enrolled at Northwest and began my educational journey which has just one more year to complete as I currently pursue my master in ministry, which I plan to use my degree to help other victims.

Yet, even before I started that journey, I was a bit fearful and wondered if I could handle school and if God would provide for me to head back…so He played a practical joke on me by sending me on what I thought was a simple hike…not!  I won a contest to go rock climbing!  Me – rock climb?  I don’t like heights – after all I had a traumatic fall when I was a child…yet God would not let me remain a victim as I overcame my heights by literally walking off a really high cliff and going down with a thin rope and trusting someone to keep rope from sliding off cliff…that’s what God expects of us.  Life will get dangerous at times and bumpy yet as we face our fears, we must trust Him and let go of our victim mentality and become victorious in Him.

Then, I fell in love with a great man who taught me about faith as he faces his own medical crisis…we married over a year later and I moved to a new town and new home and new church.  It was hard to find a new church and get settled in as I met new people.  Yet even then God would not let me become a victim.

Now, my great husband and I live in an even newer town and we are meeting new people…the land around us is covered in a layer of snow and it’s, well, just beautiful…we may not fully understand why God brought us here.  Life has been a struggle since we moved here yet we are continuing to persevere and not being a victim of our circumstances.

After all Psalms 20:6 (NIV) reads:

Now this I know: The Lord gives victory to his anointed. He answers him from his heavenly sanctuary with the victorious power of his right hand.

and Psalms 45: 4 reads:

In your majesty ride forth victoriously in the cause of truth, humility and justice; let your right hand achieve awesome deeds.

So, are you still a victim of your circumstance’s or have you become victorious?  If you are still a victim, and even not, I’m praying for you…

Leave a Reply

