One Year Later…Many Changes


Well, it’s hard to believe that in just a couple hours the first day of a New Year will be ending…

Yet, even as this day winds down, this is a time to reflect and think about the past year – the ups and downs – and how you can improve yourself in the coming years as you reflect on changes.

There have been plenty of changes since this time last year…we were living in a big house in the area where we were most comfortable living.  Soon, we realized, that we had to move since we were living on one income and could no longer afford such a big home.  So we moved to a small apartment in the middle of a middle sized city.

Yet, we felt the urge to move even further away from home – after all, God does not want us to be too comfortable.  We had previously thought of Montana – but too cold (for hubby) and too far from home.  Then we wondered about Nevada yet it was too hot (for me) and even further from  home.  After prayer and urging from family, we decided to stay in Washington and so as you know, we moved to the Spokane area.  Still close to home, somewhat cold – especially now as I hope for a ton of snow – and not as hot as Nevada.

Furthermore, I was drifting – wondering what I should do with my life besides going to school, so after taking one class, I began to blog.  I love to write!  So this blogging allows me to write while staying focused on schoolwork.

Now, I have changed schools…yet even now, as I work on homework for the class that starts on Monday, my idea of who I am is changing as I did a study of my gifts.  Use to be administration, mercy, serve, and even creative writing.  Now it is an artisan (I love art and other artsy type people and their crafts), writing, music, prophecy and a missionary.  These last two are a surprise yet they are not since I love other cultures and I often see or hear things before they are spoken or occur – go ahead and call me weird on this!

In conclusion, now I must try and understand where and how God wants me to use these gifts especially since we are called to use our gifts for His purpose within a body of believers (1 Cor 12:1-11).  like more blogging – though I often try to find time to blog and want to quit at times – I feel called to continue blogging and thus I will continue.

Yet, even with the realization of these gifts, it will mean more changes as I reflect on my life and how I can improve my life for the better in order to seek God and build my relationship with Him, in order to love other people more, while desiring to serve Him, my husband, and others within the community.  After all, who knows what will have changed between now and this time next year…

So, what changes have happened in your life in this last year?  What changes do you want to see in the coming year?

Leave a Reply

