Time…a slower pace of life


It’s been an interesting time these learning that every thing seems to be moving at a slower pace – even traffic is different than Western Washington.

For instance, today I drove 30 miles east to the local Kia dealer for an oil change – after all, we’ve driven our vehicle back and forth quite a bit in the last few months.  Unfortunately, this is the only Kia dealer in the area – I think east of the Cascades – so I had no choice but to drive this distance.  I’ve been spoiled by the dealership that was only about 10 miles from home and there were others not far from even that dealership.

The appointment was at 8 in the morning – after all, in Western Washington, things were crazy by 7:30 for even car appointments.  So I got up early and prepared to give myself at least an hour to deal with traffic and find my way to the place.  After all, before it took up to half an hour to drive 10 miles in Western Washington and more if I wanted to stop at a local coffee shop for breakfast while I wait for the work to be done.

Lo and behold – it took just 10 minutes to get to the downtown Spokane area and about 15 minutes to get to the dealership and that included a detour to get donuts at a favorite donut shop only to change my mind to find a local Starbucks – something I’ve not had since we moved here.  After all, they are not on every corner here nor are they in every local grocery store –  the nearest one is 15 – 20 minutes away!

The line at Starbucks was at least 10 – 15 car lengths and I was expecting quite a wait – after all, normally it took at least 15 – 20 minutes in Western Washington to get through such a long line.  Lo and behold – I had my order in 10 minutes and the guy was kind enough to help me make sure I was going in the right direction for the dealership.

Next, came the road construction on my final leg of the journey!  Expecting a loooong wait, I prepared myself to wait as we were stopped by the flagger – after all, I was at least 20 – 25 minutes early for my appointment.  My oh my!  It took just a few minutes with just a few cars and we were on our way.  I made it to my appointment less than 5 minutes later with still time to spare.

The next wait was in the waiting room as my vehicle took about the same amount of time it would take in Western Washington but no one else was there (except staff) and comfy chairs so I sat back and enjoyed my Grande hot chocolate (not a coffee person) and blueberry scone!  After all, in Western Washington, at least 5 other people would still be waiting.

Once I had my vehicle back, home I went in less than 30 minutes of driving…with a few crazy people on the road (they are every where) and most people driving at a slow even pace.  Yet, the world did not end as people take their time to enjoy life in this community.

Time…according to Ecclesiastes 3:1 (New International Version) “There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens.”  This passage goes on to describe a time to be born and so on yet we all need to slow down and enjoy life.  We move in such a fast pace world as time goes on.  Let’s all start slowing down and enjoying life a bit more.

Time – what can you do to slow down your hectic fast pace world?  Please feel free to comment.

In the meantime, I will be working on retraining my brain in this slow paced world to slow down a bit and enjoy life on our new journey.

Leave a Reply

