BIG ANNOUNCEMENT: Detours of Life


So many times, you are driving along and up ahead, you see road signs that say “road construction” and “detour.”  Like roads, life is like that sometimes as you prepare for a journey as you encounter signs that say timing is not right and detour is necessary.

That has happened to us as we prepare for our journey to Nevada with some issues regarding my husband’s health and trying to focus on my master.

If we were to go anywhere right now, I would be completely alone without family support to help with my husband.  Currently he is facing a crisis on his finger and if it becomes infected, he will lose one more finger on his left hand.  He has already lost two and if he loses another one, it will be difficult for him to take care of himself for a while.  This would put more strain on me especially if I find a job along with school and other typical household stuff.

Therefore,to allow more time to finish my master degree and to ensure that I have family support close by, we are taking a detour for a couple of years.

So, the announcement is that this detour is leading us to the Spokane – Coeur d’Alene area for the time being.

It has not been an easy decision especially since I’ve had my doubts over the last few weeks about Nevada.  With this change of plans, I may wonder if I’m not trusting God enough to take care of us.  Now, we must trust Him to take care of us as we make this detour.

Above all, we must remember that God knows what He is doing and that His ways are different than our ways per Is 55:8-9 (MSG):

I don’t think the way you think.

The way you work isn’t the way I work.”

God’s Decree.

“For as the sky soars high above earth,

so the way I work surpasses the way you work,

and the way I think is beyond the way you think.

Therefore, as we change our plans, we must continue to remember the ways of the Lord are different.

As for my blog, I will eventually be changing it to something new about our adventures with the move and how we fare on our own.  Therefore, my blogs will be sporadic for the next few weeks as we prepare for this journey and as I make some changes to the blog.  I will do my best to post at least once a week and ask that all of my loyal followers – which is you guys and gals – to continue to follow as we work through this transition.

Do you feel as if the Lord wants you to take a different route in your journey?  If so, feel free to comment as well as comment on this blog with your thoughts.

And, who knows?  Perhaps, during this time, God will take us in a different direction or He may just preparing the way for us to finish the journey to the deserts of Nevada.

Blessings to all of you and may the Lord direct your paths to the right one, even if there is a detour, as He prepares you for a journey.

Leave a Reply

