Who am I? The Positive and Negative of Who I am


Several years ago, I earned a degree in Human Development, which is a study of how humans develop along with some counseling theories and psychology.  During the course of one class, we were asked to interview people and collect “Who am I” answers from them.

This exercise is a way of thinking of who you really are as a person.

You can create two lists – one with positive stuff and another with negative stuff.

Last night I created my own list and this is what it looks like on the positive side:

  1. I am a Wife who has a wonderful husband
  2. I am a daughter who struggles in her relationship with her parents
  3. I am a Christian who loves the Lord with all her heart
  4. I am a cat lover since I was a wee baby
  5. I am a student pursuing a master degree
  6. I am a mother (1 child)
  7. I am a worshiper of the highest King
  8. I am a princess of that highest King
  9. I am an aunt (11 x) and a great aunt (3 times) with one niece in heaven
  10. I am an analytical person who enjoys working with data
  11. I am creative with a gift in creative communication
  12. I am merciful at times and need to be more merciful at other times
  13. I am beautiful …inside
  14. I am faithful and loyal to those around me
  15. I am a writer of novels, blogs, and student papers
  16. I am a reader of Christian fiction and textbooks
  17. I am an artist who enjoys painting, drawing, and photography
  18. I am filled with hope that all things will work out in the end and there is a light at the end of the tunnel
  19. I am an awesome person who enjoys life
  20. I am a person with a heart for serving the community

These are the not so positive stuff about me:

  1. I tend to tell white lies at times and I’m ashamed of them – people want honesty and a real person.  I need the character change to be an effective evangelist.
  2. I have a fiery tongue that needs to be controlled.  After all, James 3:9 (MSG) reads “With our tongues we bless God our Father; with the same tongues we curse the very men and women he made in his image.”  Therefore, we need to control what we say to people.
  3. I need to be more grateful especially to all that God has done for me.  According to the book Choosing Gratitude by Nancy Leigh DeMoss (2009, 29) “gratitude is a lifestyle, a hard-fought, grace-infused, biblical lifestyle.”

Though there are a few other negative things in my life, I need to confront these negative issues and not let them rule my life.  I need to be on fire for God and try to flee from temptation and negative thoughts the best I can.

Finally, how can I do flee from and resist temptation especially since I can’t do it on my own?  I need to call upon the name of the Lord and allowing God to work through me as I continue to go to Him for the strength to fight this negativity.   I also need to repent of my sins or negativity and trying my best not to continue to be a negative person.

So, what does your “Who am I” list(s) reveal?

Leave a Reply

