Perfection…To be or not to be perfect…


Well, my class Casting Vision wrapped up this weekend as I frantically worked on the final paper. Final papers are never my forte; however, for some unknown reason, I end up with great grades. Even with these grades, I spend time worried about the papers because I want that perfect grade since I strive to be perfect.

As I strive to be perfect, I ask – what is the use of being perfect? I mean, why do we strive to be perfect? It only stresses me and I become cranky when I try to be too perfect. My need to be perfect may have come from growing up in a family that never really praises me. Where no matter what I did, I never pleased them. Yet, now I focus on putting my effort to be get decent grades into pleasing and honoring God for giving me the chance to go to college. So, where does your strive to be perfect come from?

Several years ago, I learned a lesson about striving to be perfect when I was frustrated about a statistics class. After being stressed and talking to hubby, I realized that I do not need perfect grades to be happy. Even if I did get a lower grade, the skies are still blue and the sun still shone! After all this stress, in the end after a much more relaxed effort, I did pass this class with a B.

As for casting vision, even if we have weaknesses, God will still use these “imperfections” for His will as described in 2 Cor 13:9 (MSG), “We don’t just put up with our limitations; we celebrate them, and then go on to celebrate every strength, every triumph of the truth in you. We pray hard that it will all come together in your lives.”

Therefore, even if I do not get a perfect grade, I can still celebrate and be grateful that I can go to school and earn my master degree. Furthermore, even as I create “perfect” plans for our journey, if something comes up, I can celebrate that God has given us this vision and if the plans go astray, like not getting our cat into a harness or something gets broken on the move, I can still rejoice that God will protect us on this journey.

So, do you strive to be perfect? What happens to your physical body when you strive to be perfect?  If you’re like me, it wears you down.

Therefore, rest and know that God uses our weakness and according to Rom 12:2 (MSG) “So here’s what I want you to do, God helping you: Take your everyday, ordinary life—your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking-around life—and place it before God as an offering. Embracing what God does for you is the best thing you can do for him. Don’t become so well-adjusted to your culture that you fit into it without even thinking. Instead, fix your attention on God. You’ll be changed from the inside out. Readily recognize what he wants from you, and quickly respond to it…God [will bring] the best out of you, develops well-formed maturity in you.”  

Therefore, consider taking your “perfect” life and turning it over to God so He can use you for His perfect will.

4 comments on “Perfection…To be or not to be perfect…

  1. Wow another great inspired blog Ann – love to hear what the Lord is doing in both of your lives – good reflection on what perfect is – thanks for sharing. Linda

  2. I get where you are coming from in this post. I have always taken every effort to be the best at everything I do. It is only by God’s grace that I am able to realize my human limitations. As I realize that I am not the best at most things. I begin to understand that God made me the way I am for His glory and His purpose. I just must do the best that I can do to honor Him.. With His power I can surpass my human limitations and further the kingdom.

    • Amen. So true. I’m taking a class on Henri Nouwen and learning that God uses our weaknesses for His purpose and we do not need to strive to be perfect in our everyday lives.

Leave a Reply

