google.com/images

Rejoicing over a Lost Battery…and Souls


Have you ever lost something important or valuable?  Do you remember the feeling of fear or panic?  Not too long ago, I had that feeling while on vacation when I realized I was missing part of my camera. 

Before going on vacation, I prepared my camera for the trip on to discover that we were missing the battery charger – probably misplaced in our last move.  As a result, I ordered a new one and charged the battery.  On the way out of the state, I stopped to take pictures and could not find my battery.  After frantically searching my bags, I could not find It; however, I was so thankful for phone cameras so I could get pictures of the first leg of our trip.

After arriving in Reno, after more searching, we discovered that the battery was indeed missing so my hubby bought me a new camera with his birthday gift card.  What a sweetheart! 

Throughout the Bible, there are parables about people who went in search of something that was lost.  For instance, there is the woman who lost a valuable coin in Luke 15:8-10.  When she realized she lost this coin, she went on a frantic search until she found it.  When she found it, she asked her neighbors to rejoice with her.

The person who spoke these parables in the Bible was a man called Jesus, who cares for the lost.  The lost could be those who have wondered from the church or have never accepted Jesus as their personal savior.  When they are found, Jesus rejoices with them even though they have violated His will and have committed sin because He still loves and cares for them. 

Over the years, I have learned to pray when something is lost and listen for that still small voice that tells me where to find the lost item.  It is usually where the still small voice told me to look just like it told me where to find the battery once we arrived home.  However, I went to the spot yet still no battery so a new one was ordered.

So what happened to the battery?  Well, a month later, just today, we found someone to take our couch set and as the couch was removed, there was the battery, right under the couch! 

Yes, we rejoiced just as we will rejoice when someone finds something that is valuable to them.  However, above material things, the most valuable of all is their soul as we reach out to the lost through the coffee shop by listening and ministering to their needs.

So, what do you do when you lose something?  What are you seeking?

2 comments on “Rejoicing over a Lost Battery…and Souls

  1. Ann we love this blog and you, our daughter-in-law, and thankful for Jesus in your lives as He leads and guides you both on your earthly journey for His sake and ours, amen. Mom & Dad Cole

Leave a Reply

